I was born on the 9th July 1985 in Berlin, Germany.

After two long years of waiting and nagging my mother I was finally able to go on the ice. My figure skating career started when I was five years old. That was the beginning of a long, eventful and interesting journey with many ups and downs.
Shortly after my eighth birthday (1993), due to my parents recently getting divorced, I moved to the North East of England with my mother and sister. Here I continued my training at the local ice rink, Billingham Forum but I have to admit that this was nowhere near as well organised or to the same standard as in Berlin. I no longer had ballet or athletics and only 1 - 2 hours of ice time a day and this were usually in the morning before school. My coach during this time was Catherine Barker. She taught me up to double Lutz.

At the age of thirteen I changed both coach and rink in order to train in better facilities. I now trained in Sunderland Ice Rink with Debbie and Simon Briggs. This training facility was over an hour’s drive from our house and with training sessions starting at 6:15am, it meant getting up earlier as well as getting changed for school and eating breakfast in the car on route to school so I wouldn’t miss any classes. This was all made worthwhile when I became British Novice Champion (1999) that year. This was a very important achievement for me personally as I failed to get past the qualifying round the previous year.

Unfortunately it wasn’t long before my new found luck left me again. The facility management at Sunderland Ice Rink decided to close the ice rink during daylight hours in order to use it for other purposes and increase their revenue. Although we all joined together in hope to overturn this decision with the help of a lawyer we were unable to affect the outcome. This meant that I would now train in a different rink from 4am till 6am, Wednesday through to Sunday. We got up at 2am and left the house at 2:30am every morning to drive fro an hour to training. Due to the distance and lack of available ice time this was my only training session every day for a period of a few months. In the summer of 2000 Debbie and Simon Briggs got offered a job in Dundee, which is situated on the East Coast of Scotland above Edinburgh. So in August or September (I can’t remember the exact date) I left my home, mother and sister to move with Debbie and Simon Briggs to Dundee and train. That year at the British Championships I placed 2nd in Primary Ladies, 2nd in the Junior Pairs and 7th in Junior Ladies event.

The few months I spent in Dundee were very difficult for me. I lived with my coaches and went to school there but I wasn’t happy. This resulted in me changing coaches and rinks again. In January 2001 I moved to Ayr on the West Coast of Scotland which is a little town roughly 45 minutes drive southwest of Glasgow. Here I trained with some of the best skaters Britain had at that time. These included British Champions Alan Street and Zoe Jones, as well as British Junior Champion Tristan Cousins. I trained with Kevin Bursey, from Canada and Joy Sutcliff. I moved in with Joy Sutcliff and her husband Ronny and shared the house with 6 other athletes. Training went well. I improved and started landing more and more triples jumps. After finishing secondary school that year I had more time to train so I was now able to spend 3 – 4 hours a day on the ice, as well as training in athletics and ballet. The following year (Season 2001/2002) at the British Championships I became British Junior Ladies Champion.

In January 2002 we were informed that this ice rink too would be closing. I really wasn’t having much luck. So on the 1st of February 2002 my coach Joy Sutcliff, a few other skaters and myself moved to Nottingham as Joy had been offered a good job there. In the past two years I had moved a total of 7 times! They say home is where the heart is, I guess. Nottingham Ice Arena was a brand new training facility, with two ice pads, a fitness studio and a ballet room. We now had 2-3 ice sessions a day and ballet four times a week. Alongside my training I was also working as a coach, which I started to do in Ayr, and in the Skate Reception. Training and board with Joy Sutcliff cost a total of £100 a week and my mother was already working 3 jobs.

In July 2002 Nottingham held the Queens Gala in the presence of Her Majesty the Queen Elizabeth the 2nd. This gala was choreographed by Jane Torvel and Christopher Dean with many world renowned skaters coming to participate in this show and it was a truly magical experience for me. Unfortunately this was to be my last night in Nottingham. After winning Juniors British Championships I was supposed to go on to skate Junior Worlds but I was told that I wasn’t ready yet and therefore wouldn’t be sent. Instead the following year (2003) I was requested to skate Junior British Championships again rather than moving up to the seniors level. My family and i disagreed with this decision and decided it was best for me to go back to Germany to train. So negotiations started up between my father and soon to be new coach Ilona Schindler. Beginning of August 2002 I was sent back to Germany. I deliberately say ‘sent’ as I didn’t want to leave England.

So in August 2002 I continued my career in Erfurt, Germany with my new coach Ilona Schindler and training partner Stefan Lindemann. I placed 13th at the German Championships in 2003 and 3rd in 2004. I improved my technique, my jumps and gradually gained continuity and confidence in my triples jumps. Moving back to Germany meant that I was banned from competing at international competitions for a 2 years period. This meant that my first season skating Junior Grand Prix’s (Season 2004/05), nfortunately was also my last. I was successful during this season having placed 8th at my first Junior Grand Prix and 4th at my second. New Years Eve 2004 I badly injured my foot during training. This was one week before the German Championships I could hardly walk for pain but I carried on training and after 2 days of rest I decided to still go ahead and compete. Unfortunately my foot didn’t hold out and after a fall, due to my injurie during my long programme I was unable to even finish. It turned out I had torn some tendons and ruptured a ligament in my right foot and therefore wouldn’t be able to train for a few months. This injury caught me at my personal peak and I am to this day trying to regain the standard I was then. I continued my training after a few months of rest but due to the severity of the injury I eventually had to have surgery which took place in January 2006.

2007 was my last German Championships with my coach Ilona Schindler in which I placed 3rd. In May 2007 I changed coach and moved from Erfurt to Berlin. I now train with Karin Hendschke-Raddatz. During the last season (2008/09) I placed 2nd at the German Championships and was quite successful throughout the season including placing 1st at Nice in France which was my favourite international competition destination so far; 3rd in Dortmund and 3rd in Holland.

Season 2009/10: The preparations for this season went well even though I was still having problems with an old injury. But the pain kept getting worse and prevented me from training. So that in October we had to call off the season due to injuries. I then had to have another surgery on my foot in November and a surgery on my hip in December. But I have recovered well from them so far and am hoping to get back on the ice at the end of January.

Education

  • GCSE’s – Ian Ramsey C of E School, England
  • Abitur (A-Level’s) – Pierre-de-Coubertin Gymnasium, Germany
  • Since 2008 Regional Studies Asia/Africa, Bachelor of Arts – Humboldt University to Berlin, Germany

Coaches

  • Christiane Dost
  • Andy Panai – Dance Coach
  • Catherine Barker
  • Simon and Debbie Briggs
  • Joy Sutcliffe
  • Kevin Bursey
  • Ilona Schindler
  • Karin Hendschke-Raddatz – current Coach
  • Lorna Brown – Choreographer
  • Iwo Svec – Choreographer

 

 

deutsch   |   impressum

Ich wurde am 9. Juli 1985 in Berlin geboren.

Meine Eiskunstlaufkarriere begann als ich fünf Jahre alt war. Nach zwei langen Jahren warten durfte ich endlich auf das Eis gehen. Das war der Anfang von einer langen und ereignisreichen Reise mit vielen Hochs und Tiefs.

Kurz nach meinem achten Geburtstag (1993) zog ich mit meiner Mutter und meiner Schwester nach England. Der Grund war die kürzliche Scheidung von meinen Eltern. Dort habe ich mein Training fortgesetzt, aber ich muss zugeben, dass es nicht so gut organisiert war wie in Berlin. Ich hatte nun kein Ballett oder Athletik mehr und nur noch eine, maximal zwei Stunden Eis am Tag, welche meistens früh am Morgen vor der Schule waren. Meine Trainerin zu der Zeit war Cath Barker. Sie brachte mir die doppel Sprünge bis zu doppel Lutz bei.

Im Alter von dreizehn wechselte ich Trainer und Eishalle, um bessere Trainingsbedingungen zu haben. Ich trainierte jetzt in Sunderland mit Simon und Debbie Briggs. Simon ist jetzt auch ein Technischer Spezialist und reist zu vielen internationalen Wettkämpfen während der Saison. Die Eishalle war ca. 40min weg und das Training begann jeden Morgen früh um 6:15 Uhr. Dies bedeutete früher aufstehen und mich nach dem Training im Auto umziehen und Frühstück essen, damit ich es rechtzeitig zur Schule schaffte. Aber es hatte sich alles rentiert. Im selbem Jahr (1999) habe ich die British Novice Championships gewonnen, wo ich das Jahr davor nicht mal die Qualifikation für das Kurzprogramm geschafft hatte!

Aber bald schon verließ mich wieder das Glück. Die Unternehmensleiter beschlossen eines Tages, dass sie die Eishalle schließen werden, um sie für andere Dinge zu nutzen. Also trainierte ich jetzt von 4-6 Uhr früh in Whitley Bay in einer Eishalle, die über eine Stunde Fahrt entfernt lag. Ich trainierte von Mittwoch bis Sonntag. Meine Mutter und ich sind um 2 Uhr aufgestanden und haben das Haus um 2:30 Uhr jeden Morgen verlassen. Das war über einen Zeitraum von ein paar Monaten meine einzige Eisstunde am Tag. Im Sommer 2000 haben meine Trainer einen Job in Dundee, Ostküste Schottland über Edinbrough, angeboten bekommen. Also verließ ich im August oder September (kann mich nicht mehr genau erinnern) mein zu Hause und zog nach Schottland, um zu trainieren. Dieses Jahr wurde ich in den British Championships zweite bei den Primary Ladies; zweite bei den Junior Pairs und siebte bei den Junior Ladies.

Die paar Monate in Dundee waren sehr schwer für mich. Ich wohnte mit meinen Trainern, besuchte eine Schule dort, aber ich war nicht glücklich. Das Ergebnis war, dass ich dann noch mal Trainer und Eishalle wechselte. In Januar 2001 zog ich an die Westküste Schottlands, nach Ayr, eine kleine Stadt ca. 45min entfernt von Glasgow. Dort habe ich mit einigen der besten Läufer trainiert, die es zu der Zeit in England gab. Ich trainierte mit den Britischen Meistern Alan Street und Zoe Jones, sowie dem Britischen Junioren Meister Tristan Cousins. Trainer waren Kevin Bursey, aus Kanada, und Joy Sutcliffe. Ich wohnte im Haus mit Joy und ihren Man Ronny, sowie mit sechs weiteren Läufern. Training lief gut, ich verbesserte mich und fing an, immer mehr dreifach Sprünge zu stehen. Da ich aufgehört hatte in die Schule zu gehen, hatte ich nun mehr Zeit zum trainieren. Ich trainierte jetzt 3-4 Stunden am Tag und hatte wieder regelmäßig Ballett und Athletik. Bei den nächsten Meisterschaften (Saison 2001/2002) wurde ich British Junior Ladies Champion.

Im Januar 2002 wurde uns gesagt, dass auch diese Halle schließen würde. Ich hatte wirklich kein Glück. Also zogen meine Trainerin, ich und ein paar andere Läufer am 1. Feb 2002 nach Nottingham, wo meine Trainerin ein gutes Jobangebot bekam. In den letzten zwei Jahren war ich sieben Mal umgezogen! Zu Hause ist wo das Herz ist. Nottingham hatte gute Trainingsmöglichkeiten. Wir hatten zwei Eisflächen, ein kleines Fitnessstudio und einen Ballettsaal. Wir hatten jetzt 2-3 Eisstunden am Tag und Ballett vier Mal die Woche. Neben dem Training arbeitete ich auch als Trainerin, welches ich schon in Ayr begann, und in der Skate Reception (Büro). Training und Unterkunft waren £100 pro Woche und meine Mutter verdiente nicht viel.

Im Juli 2002 hielt Nottingham die Queens Gala, mit der Anwesenheit von ihrer Majestät der Königin. Choreographiert wurde die Show von Jane Torvel und Christopher Dean. Viele Top Läufer nahmen Teil an der Show und es wurde zu einem magischen Erlebnis. Das sollte mein letzter Abend in Nottingham sein. Nachdem ich Junioren gewonnen hatte, sollte ich eigentlich zu den Junior Weltmeisterschaften fahren, aber mir wurde gesagt, dass ich nicht bereit sei und nicht fahren dürfe. Stattdessen sollte ich im nächstem Jahr (2003) erneut Junioren laufen, wo ich eigentlich Meisterklasse laufen wollte. Mir gefiel es nicht und meiner Familie auch nicht. Sie beschlossen, dass ich wieder nach Deutschland gehen soll. Also begannen Diskussionen zwischen meiner Mutter, meinem Vater und meiner neuen Trainerin Ilona Schindler. Anfang August wurde ich nach Deutschland zurück geschickt. Ich sage bewusst geschickt, da ich nicht gehen wollte.

Im August 2002 setzte ich meine Karriere mit Trainerin Ilona Schindler und Trainingspartner Steffan Lindemann in Erfurt fort. Ich belegte den 13. Platz bei den Deutschen Meisterschaften in 2003 und den 3. Platz in 2004. Meine Sprünge verbesserten sich und ich bekam immer mehr Sicherheit in meinen dreifach Sprüngen. Die Rückkehr nach Deutschland bedeutete, dass ich für zwei Jahre international gesperrt war, da ich das Land, welches ich repräsentiere, gewechselt hatte. Daraus resultierte, dass meine erste Saison mit Junior Grand Prixs auch gleichzeitig meine letzte war. Ich war erfolgreich, ich war achte bei meinem ersten JGP und vierte beim zweiten. Silvester 2004 hatte ich während meinem Training meinen Fuß schlimm verletzt. Das war genau eine Woche vor den Meisterschaften. Ich konnte kaum laufen, aber nach zwei Tagen Pause hatte ich mein Training fortgesetzt und bin die Meisterschaften mit gelaufen. Leider hielt mein Fuß nicht stand und ich konnte die Kür nach einen erneuten Sturz nicht zu ende laufen. Untersuchungen ergaben, dass ich mir Bänder innen und außen gerissen hatte und die Kapsel angerissen. Diese Verletzung hat mich in meinem Höhepunkt erwischt und ich versuche noch heute, die Sprünge, die ich damals sprang, wieder zu bekommen. Ich setzte mein Training nach ein paar Monaten Pause fort, aber ich hatte kein Erfolg und so ließ ich meinen Fuß Anfang 2006 operieren.

2007 waren meine letzten Meisterschaften mit Trainerin Ilona Schindler, ich belegte den 3. Platz. Mai 2007 wechselte ich Trainerinnen und zog zurück nach Berlin. Ich trainiere jetzt mit Karin Hendschke-Raddatz. Letzte Saison (2008/2009) wurde ich Deutsche Vize-Meisterin und war ziemlich erfolgreich in dieser Saison bei den internationalen Wettkämpfen: 1. Platz in Nizza, 3. Platz in Dortmund und 3. Platz in Holland.

Saison 2009/10: Trotz einer älteren Verletzung lief die Saisonvorbereitung gut. Aber der Schmerz wurde immer schlimmer und verhinderte ein ausreichendes Training. Im Oktober mussten wir die Saison verletzungsbedingt absagen. Es folgte dann eine erneute Operation am Fuß im November und ein Eingriff an der Hüfte im Dezember. Ich habe beide Operationen gut überstanden und hoffe Ende Januar wieder aufs Eis gehen zu dürfen.

Ausbildung

  • GCSE’s (10. Klasse Abschluss) – Ian Ramsey C of E School, England
  • Abitur – Pierre-de-Coubertin Gymnasium, Germany
  • Seit 2008 Regionalstudien Asien/Afrika – Humboldt Universität Berlin, Deutschland, angestrebter Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts

Trainer

  • Christiane Dost
  • Andy Panai – Eistanz Trainer
  • Catherine Barker
  • Simon and Debbie Briggs
  • Joy Sutcliffe
  • Kevin Bursey
  • Ilona Schindler
  • Karin Hendschke-Raddatz – derzeitige Trainerin
  • Lorna Brown – Choreograph
  • Iwo Svec – Choreograph

 

 

english   |   impressum